2017-18 Milken Educators

Photo 13 of 44 Indiana Kristen Lents


Math teacher Kristen Lents, who won Indiana's 2017-18 Milken Educator Award on January 23, 2018, at Harris Academy in Brownsburg, has a knack for connecting with even the most math-phobic students. Harris Academy is a non-traditional high school whose students face academic and life challenges, including teen parents, students with health issues, those who have to work to support themselves, and reluctant learners with credit deficits. Kristen makes math instruction relevant with projects like spreadsheet-based comparisons of cell phone plans that use Algebra I standards like equations and graphing. She holds students to the highest standards despite the reality that many will not go on to college, and they deliver for her: 98% of her students earned their math credits last year. 


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Alaska Valerie Baalerud
Alabama Vinny Chiaramonte
Arkansas Dawn McLain
Arizona Jonathan Cadena
California Aaron Ferguson
California Alexis King
Colorado Lisa Rodgers
Connecticut Anna Capobianco
Delaware Tami Lunsford
Florida Dale Adamson
Hawaii Ken Kang
Iowa Joni Readout
Indiana Kristen Lents
Kansas Heidi Albin
Kentucky Brooke Powers
Louisiana Angela Boxie
Louisiana Theresa Cross
Massachusetts Dan Adler
Maryland Allison Felton
Michigan Neal Cronkite
Missouri Jordan McGaughey
MS Robyn Killebrew
North Carolina Meghan LeFevers
North Dakota Adam Gehlhar
Nebraska Jon Pickinpaugh
New Jersey Maria DeBruin
New Jersey Toni Ann Palmisano
New Mexico Melanie Alfaro
New York Aja Brown
New York Andrew Franz
Ohio Maria Rodgers
Oklahoma Debreon Davis
Oregon Andria Lindsey
Pennsylvania Melanie Cole
Rhode Island Lauren Hopkins
South Carolina Erin Reichert
South Dakota Carla Diede
Tennessee Paula Franklin
Tennessee Katherine Watkins
Texas Jennifer Fuller
Texas Katie Negen
Virginia Ryan James
West Virginia Erika Klose
Wyoming Shannon Hill