2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 3 of 36 AZ Megan Brown

Principal, Buckeye Elementary School | Buckeye, AZ

Principal Megan Brown has worked magic at Buckeye Elementary since she took the helm in 2021. Thanks to her focus on literacy, effective interventions and teacher training, Buckeye Elementary's rating has risen from F to B, and the school is no longer identified by the state as needing comprehensive support and improvement. At a time when teachers are leaving schools across the country, Buckeye’s staff retention rate has risen to 90% since Principal Brown took over.

On March 31, 2023, we surprised Principal Brown at a festive all-school assembly with Arizona's $25,000 Milken Award, with the help of Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Horne. Principal Brown is the first ever recipient from the Buckeye Elementary School District and hails from a family of educators. "This is in my blood — this is what I was born to do," she told us after the assembly. "This Award validates that I'm in the right spot, doing the right things. I'm in this for the kids and the teachers."


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz