2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 6 of 36 CT Elaine Hill

Fourth grade teacher, Academic Academy at Wallace Middle School | Waterbury, CT

On January 12, 2023, the gym at Wallace Middle School was packed with hundreds of students, staff, dignitaries from around the state, news reporters and TV cameras, all for an assembly featuring Connecticut Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz and Commissioner of Education Charlene Russell-Tucker. When Dr. Jane Foley, senior vice president of the Milken Educator Awards, took the microphone and presented fourth grade teacher Elaine Hill with a Milken Educator Award and $25,000, no one was more surprised than the recipient!

Elaine is a founding member of Wallace's Academic Academy, a school-within-a-school for excelling students in fourth through eighth grades. Her students collaborate on homework and build LEGO robots with Academy eighth grade mentors, and they deliver among the highest scores in the district on assessments. "I teach because I love watching my students learn, grow and have fun," Elaine told us after the assembly. "It's important to recognize educators because we're doing work that helps the whole community."

FUN FACT: Elaine Hill's notification marked the 400th time Jane Foley has welcomed a new Milken Educator to the family. Nothing gives her greater joy than growing the Milken Educator Network!


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz