2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 7 of 36 HI Esther Kwon

Assistant principal, Daniel K. Inouye Elementary School | Wahiawa, HI

By the end of the festive assembly at Inouye Elementary on January 31, 2023, Assistant Principal Esther Kwon wore so many leis that her neck was nowhere to be found! Students, colleagues, and visiting dignitaries placed dozens of celebratory flower garlands over Esther's head as they congratulated the recipient of Hawaii's $25,000 Milken Educator Award. Hawaii Lieutenant Governor Sylvia Luke and Superintendent of Education Keith Hayashi joined us for Esther's life-changing surprise.

What did Esther think when we called her name? "Time froze for a moment," she told us. "Then I heard the kids screaming....I was just following directions, trying to take it all in." She hopes her Milken Award inspires young people who want to make a difference in their communities to consider careers in education: "You can really improve someone's life trajectory as a teacher." 


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz