2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 13 of 36 KY Charlotte Buskill

Third grade teacher, Newton Parrish Elementary | Owensboro, KY

Third grade teacher Charlotte Buskill got the surprise of a lifetime when we presented her with Kentucky's 2022 Milken Educator Award and a $25,000 check in front of proud students and colleagues, distinguished guests, and a crowd of TV cameras and reporters. Kentucky Lieutenant Governor Jacqueline Coleman and Commissioner of Education Dr. Jason E. Glass joined us at Newton Parrish Elementary in Owensboro Public Schools as we welcomed Charlotte to the Milken Educator Network. The second the assembly was over, her students swarmed her at the front of the room. They couldn't wait one more second to congratulate their teacher!

Charlotte hails from a family of educators and told us that her own experiences as a student with dyslexia inspired her interest in literacy and decision to teach . "When people invest in you, you can go far," she says. "I wanted to go into education to give others that same feeling of empowerment that my teachers gave me."


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz