2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 32 of 36 TX Jenna Dean

Fourth grade teacher, Helena Park Elementary School | Nederland, TX

On February 9, 2023, fourth grade teacher Jenna Dean made history at Helena Park Elementary when we presented her with the first ever $25,000 Milken Educator Award in Nederland ISD. Governor Greg Abbott and Commissioner of Education Mike Morath joined us at the festive all-school assembly celebrating Jenna's dedication to students and colleagues at the elementary school where she was once a student.

In addition to her work in the classroom, Jenna is a devoted mentor for student teachers, several of whom have joined Helena Park's staff. "Getting to teach alongside teachers you've mentored, and seeing their success — it's so fulfilling," she told us after her Milken Award notification." And why does Jenna teach? "I love children," she says. "I love molding their minds and growing my students to reach their full potential. When I see my students achieve, it means I'm doing my job."


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz