2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 35 of 36 WV Andrea Trio

Principal, Madison Elementary School | Wheeling, WV

As students and staff cheered, Principal Andrea Trio wiped away tears when we surprised her with West Virginia's $25,000 Milken Educator Award at Madison Elementary. The star-studded Milken Award assembly on November 3, 2022 was truly "all in the family." In addition to Milken Educator Awards Vice President Stephanie Bishop (VA '01), who made the announcement, Andrea's district superintendent in Ohio County Schools, Dr. Kimberly Miller, won the Milken Award in 2002. And West Virginia State Superintendent David Roach, also part of the festivities, joined the Milken Educator Network in 1993!

Everything Principal Trio does, from helping teachers build effective instructional practices to partnering with community organizations to meet children's and families' basic needs, centers around one key question: What is best for the students? "I believe in all children," Principal Trio told us after her Milken Award surprise. "I have two children of my own, but I tell students that I have 274 children, because they are all part of me. I want them to know that they are loved."


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz