2022-23 Milken Educators

Photo 36 of 36
<< Previous Photo Next Photo >>
WY Jessica Kavitz

Kindergarten teacher, Meadowlark Elementary School | Buffalo, WY

When Meadowlark Elementary kindergarten teacher Jessica Kavitz heard Wyoming Superintendent of Public Instruction Brian Schroeder call her name as the state's 2022 Milken Educator Award recipient, she started shaking. "But then I kept picking out little faces in the crowd, the little people who are why I'm here," she told us after her Milken Award assembly on November 29, 2022. Those proud little people cheered, clapped and made a beeline to shower their teacher with congratulatory hugs after her $25,000 Milken Award surprise. Jessica made Wyoming history at the assembly, becoming the first ever Milken Award winner in Johnson County School District #1.

"I love learning, and I want to share that love with children, because learning is what's going to take anybody anywhere in their life," said Jessica. She credits her mother, a three-decade educator in nearby Gillette, for inspiring her to pursue a career in the classroom: "You can touch so many lives as an educator. There's no job like it."


All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image

2023 Milken Educator group
AL Bryan Cutter
AZ Megan Brown
AR Emily Howard
CO Tiffany Miera
CT Elaine Hill
HI Esther Kwon
ID Anna Attebury
IN Angela Fowler
IN Brittany Tinkler
KS Kristine Becker
LA Dereka Duncan
KY Charlotte Buskill
LA Corrie Campbell
LA Elise Frederic
ME Sarah Collins
MD Dion Jones
MA Leigh Beson
MS Tyler Shows
MO Vanessa Thomson
NE Lisa Moody
NV Liz Barnum
NV Jason Murray
NV Rejily Soriano
NJ Shaina Brenner
NM Christopher Nunez
NY Caitlin Garvey
NC Jessica Barnette
RI Emily Rendine
SD Abby Turbak
TN Alexa Guynes
TX Jenna Dean
TX Diana Lopez
VA Pamela Stepko
WV Andrea Trio
WY Jessica Kavitz