Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 2 of 37 Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15) Nationwide

Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15) │English teacher, Cienega High School │Vail, AZ

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: November 16, 2015

English teacher Brittany Matsushino prepares her 10th-grade students thoroughly for the complex work they encounter after they leave her classroom. Eighty-nine percent of Matsushino's students passed their state AIMS reading tests in 2014, compared with the state average of 28%. Her students excel in writing as well, with 76% passing for writing, compared with the state average of 39%. "You are the reason I became an educator," she told the students at her surprise notification, where Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken (above right) presented her award. Matsushino also thanked the students for their role in her personal life: Cienega High School is where she met her husband Jim, the school's band director.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)