Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 14 of 37 Chandler Smith (LA '15) Nationwide

Chandler Smith (LA '15) │Principal, Plaquemine High School │Plaquemine, LA

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: October 28, 2015

A data-driven principal with a reputation for motivating and inspiring those around him, Chandler Smith joined Plaquemine High at the end of the school's first year working with NIET to improve teacher effectiveness and boost student achievement. Under his leadership, Plaquemine High was in the top 20% of schools in Louisiana with the most growth in overall student proficiency from 2011-12 and in the top 15% from 2012-13 to 2013-14.

Pictured, Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken congratulates Chandler Smith (LA '15) on his Louisiana Milken Educator Award.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)