Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 25 of 37 Colin DeGroot (NM '15) Nationwide

Colin DeGroot (NM '15) │Science teacher, The ASK Academy │Rio Rancho, NM

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: February 24, 2016

Colin DeGroot is known for his Pyramid Teaching method. He asks students to become "experts" in specific areas of study and then share findings with the entire school. DeGroot's students have built roller coasters, a rocket, a wind farm and carbon-dioxide-powered cars. In one class, students created a greenhouse that provided food for 40 people.

Pictured, Dr. Jane Foley, senior vice president of the Milken Educator Awards, congratulates recipient Colin DeGroot (NM '15) on his surprise Award as students, staff and guests continue their long standing ovation.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)