Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 12 of 37 Jessica Major (LA '15) Nationwide

Jessica Major (LA '15) │TAP Master Teacher, Port Allen Middle School │Port Allen, LA

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: October 28, 2015

In 2009 Port Allen Middle School was on the Louisiana Department of Education’s Academic Watch list for low achievement. Two years later Port Allen Middle adopted TAP: The System for Teacher and Student Advancement, an initiative of the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET), which creates an environment of increased teacher leadership, ongoing professional development, educator observation, sharing and feedback, and competitive compensation. Jessica Major, who grew up in the community, joined the school as a TAP master teacher, serving as an integral part of the leadership team with mentor teachers, other master teachers, and administrators to drive instructional improvement and student learning schoolwide. As a result of Major and her team’s work, by 2013, disciplinary actions were down to 200, while test scores had jumped by almost 22 points—the highest ever in the school’s history. That same year Port Allen Middle was named a Top Gains School by the Louisiana Department of Education, and received the TAP Ambassador Award from NIET in 2014.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)