Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 33 of 37 Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15) Nationwide

Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15) | English teacher, Nashville School of the Arts | Nashville, TN

Photos | Video | Bio

Date of Award: November 10, 2015

Misty Ayres-Miranda teaches grades 9-12 students English, Honors English, and AP English Literature, and also chairs the department. But the talented singer also directs several rich arts and performance-based programs at Nashville School of the Arts. She created and directs the school's new Literary Arts Conservatory, designed to provide students with opportunities to perform, write and produce plays and films.Teens perform at the poetry slams and spoken word events that Ayres-Miranda organizes at the school, as well as in poetry competitions around Nashville. The students also perform with several local arts organizations, such as the Country Music Association and the Nashville Symphony.

Pictured: Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15, left) holds her $25,000 Milken Educator Award check with the help of (from left) Matthew Marlatt (TN '09); Della Bacote (SC '98); Bobi King (TN '12); Tennessee Education Commissioner Dr. Candice McQueen; and, representing the Milken Family Foundation, Dr. Gary Stark (AR '01), CEO of the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET).

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)