Meet the 2015-16 Milken Educator Award Winners

Photo 3 of 37 Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15) Nationwide

Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15) │STEM coordinator and biotechnology teacher, Red Mountain High School │Mesa, AZ

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: November 16, 2015

Nicki Derryberry operates her classroom like a company; students work in groups at stations and are responsible for their own equipment and materials. After her first year at Mesa, all of her students passed the Career and Technical Bioscience state exam, scoring higher than any other school in the district and 15% higher than students the previous year. More than 95% of her students passed the AIMS science assessment, with 62% exceeding the standard. After Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken surprised her with the Milken Educator Award, Derryberry dedicated it to her students: "You will change the world," she told them at the schoolwide assembly.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Melody Tucker (AL '15)
Brittany Matsushino (AZ '15)
Nicki Derryberry (AZ '15)
Matthew Harvey (CA '15)
Nick Williams (CA '15)
Ryan Moore (CO '15)
Peter Arseneault (CT '15)
Jessica Cunningham (DC '15)
Michael Sana (HI '15)
Melody Coryell (IN '15)
William Smithyman (KS '15)
Jessica Major (LA '15)
John Lary (LA '15)
Chandler Smith (LA '15)
Michelle Ryan (MA '15)
Angela Malone (MD '15)
Michaela Lamarre (ME '15)
Kevin Tobe (MI '15)
Deborah Siebern-Dennis (MO '15)
Rhonda Burrage (MS '15)
Eric Patin (NC '15)
Courtney Matulka (NE '15)
Allison Cuttler (NJ '15)
Kimberly Moreno (NJ '15)
Colin DeGroot (NM '15)
Lauren Jensen (NY '15)
Ricardo Larios (OR '15)
Anthony Angelini (PA '15)
Kendra Borden (RI '15)
Lindsey Bibler (SC '15)
Kimberly Freeman (SC '15)
Gina Benz (SD '15)
Misty Ayres-Miranda (TN '15)
Laura Servin (TX '15)
Amber Dortch (VA '15)
Lauren Wilson (VA '15)
Ryan Lafferty (WA '15)