Our 2016-17 Milken Educators

Photo 21 of 33 North Carolina - Amanda Robertson

Amanda Robertson (NC '16) | Fourth-grade math teacher, Jones Intermediate School | Mount Airy, NC

Date of Award: December 8, 2016

Amanda Robertson has been an agent of change for her school and district. When Mount Airy City Schools received a $1.6 million MAPSS (Math and Project-Based Learning for Student Success) grant, Robertson was one of three teachers in the first cohort to transform her teaching from teaching-centered to student-centered and implement project-based learning (PBL). Assessments have captured impressive results: Grade-level proficiency improved from 50% to 63.56%, and Robertson's students exceeded the average by more than 10 percentage points. Jones Intermediate, a high-need school where 64% of students receive free or reduced-price lunch, scores in the top 4% of all elementary schools in North Carolina.

On the day of Amanda's surprise Award notification, Amanda's husband Justin, the district technology coordinator for Mount Airy City Schools, was working behind the scenes. He had no idea the assembly had been set up to honor his spouse. Colleagues saw Justin pacing behind the curtains as the assembly unfolded and the suspense mounted. When Amanda's name was called, Justin's head fell into his lap; he made his way up to the front of the room during the long ovation for a celebratory embrace.

More about Amanda: Bio | Photos | Video | Spotlight interview

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Alaska - Paul Campbell
Alabama - Amara Alexander
Arkansas - Kara Davis
Arizona - Timothy Thomas
California - Katherine Shaw
California - Jessica Villanueva
Colorado - Felicia Casto
Colorado - Jennie Schmaltz
Connecticut - Manuel Zaldivar
Florida - Lukas Hefty
Georgia - Eric Crouch
Hawaii - Kelly Sutcliffe
Hawaii - Masaru Uchino
Indiana - Traci Druschke
Indiana - Aimee Schade
Kansas - Stephanie Conklin
Louisiana - Catherine Randall
Louisiana - Devon Willis-Jones
Maryland - Thomas Dennison
Mississippi - Allison Ruhl
North Carolina - Amanda Robertson
New Jersey - Lindsay Frevert
New Mexico - Melissa Kovac
Ohio - Tiffany Tynes Curry
Oklahoma - Amanda Raupe
Oregon - Lisa Richard
Pennsylvania - Jayda Pugliese
Rhode Island - Emily Caldarelli
South Carolina - Vanessa Torres
South Dakota - Amanda Christensen
Tennessee - Katelyn Baker
Texas - Amber Simpson
Virginia - Lindsay Murray