Our 2016-17 Milken Educators

Photo 30 of 33 South Dakota - Amanda Christensen

Amanda Christensen (SD '16) | Fourth-grade teacher, Longfellow Elementary School | Mitchell, SD

Date of Award: January 4, 2017

"You're a product of your environment, and I really feel like because of this innovative, amazing district I've been able to grow into the person that I am," said Amanda Christensen when she accepted her Award. Amanda prepares her students for tomorrow's workplace through engaging lessons that highlight communication, critical thinking, creativity and collaboration. She may teach in a small town, but she brings big opportunities to her students: Amanda helped her students enter a writing contest held by Mantis Digital Arts, an educational video game developer based in the state. When the class produced the first-place winner and several runners-up, the company’s founder visited Longfellow to hand out the awards.

More about Amanda: Bio | Photos | Video | Spotlight interview

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Alaska - Paul Campbell
Alabama - Amara Alexander
Arkansas - Kara Davis
Arizona - Timothy Thomas
California - Katherine Shaw
California - Jessica Villanueva
Colorado - Felicia Casto
Colorado - Jennie Schmaltz
Connecticut - Manuel Zaldivar
Florida - Lukas Hefty
Georgia - Eric Crouch
Hawaii - Kelly Sutcliffe
Hawaii - Masaru Uchino
Indiana - Traci Druschke
Indiana - Aimee Schade
Kansas - Stephanie Conklin
Louisiana - Catherine Randall
Louisiana - Devon Willis-Jones
Maryland - Thomas Dennison
Mississippi - Allison Ruhl
North Carolina - Amanda Robertson
New Jersey - Lindsay Frevert
New Mexico - Melissa Kovac
Ohio - Tiffany Tynes Curry
Oklahoma - Amanda Raupe
Oregon - Lisa Richard
Pennsylvania - Jayda Pugliese
Rhode Island - Emily Caldarelli
South Carolina - Vanessa Torres
South Dakota - Amanda Christensen
Tennessee - Katelyn Baker
Texas - Amber Simpson
Virginia - Lindsay Murray