Say Hello to the 2014-15 Milken Educator Award Winners!

Photo 3 of 37 Desi Nesmith (CT ’14) Nationwide│

Desi Nesmith (CT ’14) │Principal, Metacomet School │Bloomfield, CT

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: Oct. 09, 2014 

As a former student of Metacomet who lived across the street as a child, Desi Nesmith thinks of his school as "home." He's a passionate educator and is actively investing in the future of today's youth, going so far as to donate a portion of his Milken Award to a scholarship fund for students who are interested in becoming educators. Desi’s leadership has led to reading, writing and math test scores that are above the state average.

In this photo: Having hugged everyone in reach and still holding on to Dr. Jane Foley (IN '94), a humbled, grateful Desi Nesmith waves to a crowd still on its feet in ovation. Behind him, Milken Educator Stephen Rocketto (CT '92) helps hoist the Milken Family Foundation check with Desi's name on it.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Anthony Petrelis (MA '14)
Erin Quinlan (RI '14)
Desi Nesmith (CT ’14)
Jessica Karll (MO ’14)
Angie Sigmon (NC '14)
LeeAnna Rabine (SD '14)
Josie Guiney Igielski (WI '14)
Angela Harvala (MN '14)
Karen Krantz (WA '14)
Jenna White (AK '14)
Roseann Maurantonio (NY '14)
Melonee Ginn (SC '14)
Nicole Castile (TN '14)
Jessica Tsoufiou (OH '14)
Michael Baum (PA '14)
Dr. Ernie Adkins (WV '14)
Tracy Espiritu (NJ '14)
Julie Wojcicki-Cleave (OR '14)
Michelle Johnson (DC '14)
Nardi Routten (FL '14)
Krystle Bryant (AL '14)
Cagney Weaver (MS '14)
Allyson Vitato (KY '14)
Shannon Ryan (NM '14)
Laurie Davies (IN '14)
Kelly Wilber (IN '14)
Maggie Hawk (MD '14)
Samatha Morgan (TX '14)
Amy Stanislowski (KS '14)
Carrie Harper (CO '14)
Jana Fukada (HI '14)
Carman McBride (AR '14)
Lindsey Parker (LA '14)
Angie Wytovich (VA '14)
Shalini Sharma (AZ '14)
Ana Gutierrez (AZ '14)
Brandon Sportel (CA '14)