Say Hello to the 2014-15 Milken Educator Award Winners!

Photo 27 of 37 Maggie Hawk (MD '14) Nationwide│

Maggie Hawk (MD '14) │Teacher, Yellow Springs Elementary School │Frederick, MD

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: Jan. 28, 2015

Seeing her students succeed is what the "gift" of teaching is all about for first-grade teacher Maggie Hawk. As a child, Maggie struggled with dyslexia and reading, but these challenges have only made her a stronger instructor who is determined to help her students, including many with academic and behavioral difficulties, reach their full potential.

In this photo: Newest Milken Educator Maggie Hawk gets some VIP help holding up her $25,000 check from leaders in Maryland education and from Lori and Mike Milken, leaders in recognizing talented educators.

Pictured, from left: Milken Family Foundation Trustee Lori Milken, Milken Family Foundation Co-Founder Mike Milken, Frederick County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Terry Alban, Margaret Hawk (MD ’14), Partnership and Recognition Programs Executive Director, Milken Educator Awards Coordinator Dr. Darla Strouse and Maryland Deputy State Superintendent for Teaching & Learning Dr. Jack Smith.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Anthony Petrelis (MA '14)
Erin Quinlan (RI '14)
Desi Nesmith (CT ’14)
Jessica Karll (MO ’14)
Angie Sigmon (NC '14)
LeeAnna Rabine (SD '14)
Josie Guiney Igielski (WI '14)
Angela Harvala (MN '14)
Karen Krantz (WA '14)
Jenna White (AK '14)
Roseann Maurantonio (NY '14)
Melonee Ginn (SC '14)
Nicole Castile (TN '14)
Jessica Tsoufiou (OH '14)
Michael Baum (PA '14)
Dr. Ernie Adkins (WV '14)
Tracy Espiritu (NJ '14)
Julie Wojcicki-Cleave (OR '14)
Michelle Johnson (DC '14)
Nardi Routten (FL '14)
Krystle Bryant (AL '14)
Cagney Weaver (MS '14)
Allyson Vitato (KY '14)
Shannon Ryan (NM '14)
Laurie Davies (IN '14)
Kelly Wilber (IN '14)
Maggie Hawk (MD '14)
Samatha Morgan (TX '14)
Amy Stanislowski (KS '14)
Carrie Harper (CO '14)
Jana Fukada (HI '14)
Carman McBride (AR '14)
Lindsey Parker (LA '14)
Angie Wytovich (VA '14)
Shalini Sharma (AZ '14)
Ana Gutierrez (AZ '14)
Brandon Sportel (CA '14)