Say Hello to the 2014-15 Milken Educator Award Winners!

Photo 28 of 37 Samatha Morgan (TX '14) Nationwide│

Samatha Morgan (TX '14) │Teacher, Clifton Elementary School │Clifton, TX

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: Feb. 03, 2015

Samatha Morgan, known as “The Book Lady” at Clifton, is a leader in adopting new strategies for teaching reading skills to her fifth-grade students. She's able to meet the needs of students across a wide spectrum of learning abilities through reading workshops, iPad centers and student-led portfolios. As a result, more than 90 percent of her students have achieved passing scores in reading standards, and reading fluency often grows by as much as two grade levels.

In this photo: Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken visits with Samatha Morgan as she takes in the moment, with all of its emotion and implications. Lowell knows that with this new honor, Samatha will be able to impact even more students’ lives in the future

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Anthony Petrelis (MA '14)
Erin Quinlan (RI '14)
Desi Nesmith (CT ’14)
Jessica Karll (MO ’14)
Angie Sigmon (NC '14)
LeeAnna Rabine (SD '14)
Josie Guiney Igielski (WI '14)
Angela Harvala (MN '14)
Karen Krantz (WA '14)
Jenna White (AK '14)
Roseann Maurantonio (NY '14)
Melonee Ginn (SC '14)
Nicole Castile (TN '14)
Jessica Tsoufiou (OH '14)
Michael Baum (PA '14)
Dr. Ernie Adkins (WV '14)
Tracy Espiritu (NJ '14)
Julie Wojcicki-Cleave (OR '14)
Michelle Johnson (DC '14)
Nardi Routten (FL '14)
Krystle Bryant (AL '14)
Cagney Weaver (MS '14)
Allyson Vitato (KY '14)
Shannon Ryan (NM '14)
Laurie Davies (IN '14)
Kelly Wilber (IN '14)
Maggie Hawk (MD '14)
Samatha Morgan (TX '14)
Amy Stanislowski (KS '14)
Carrie Harper (CO '14)
Jana Fukada (HI '14)
Carman McBride (AR '14)
Lindsey Parker (LA '14)
Angie Wytovich (VA '14)
Shalini Sharma (AZ '14)
Ana Gutierrez (AZ '14)
Brandon Sportel (CA '14)