Say Hello to the 2014-15 Milken Educator Award Winners!

Photo 24 of 37 Shannon Ryan (NM '14) Nationwide│

Shannon Ryan (NM '14) │Teacher, Lavaland Elementary School │Albuquerque, NM

Photos │Video │Bio

Date of Award: Jan. 22, 2015

There's a reason why fifth-grade teacher Shannon Ryan has been dubbed “Wonder Woman” by her colleagues at Lavaland. In a school marked by an extremely high poverty rate, she requests the most challenged students and instills a belief in their capacity to achieve. Her efforts are paying off with growth in math, reading and writing that is the highest in the school.

In this photo: Of the many VIPs in attendance, two are particularly proud today: Milken Educator Tom Ryan, Shannon's father and role model; and Morgan Ryan, the owl-capped Lavaland student who will never forget the day her mom was honored for helping hundreds of students reach their potential.

Pictured, from left: Milken Educator Awards Senior Vice President Dr. Jane Foley; Shannon Ryan (NM '14), Thomas Ryan (NM '99); New Mexico Secretary of Education Hanna Skandera; and Lavaland Elementary student Morgan Ryan.

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Press version: Right-click here and select "Save Target As..." (Internet Explorer) or "Save Link As..." (Firefox) to download AP-spec or best-available photo.

Anthony Petrelis (MA '14)
Erin Quinlan (RI '14)
Desi Nesmith (CT ’14)
Jessica Karll (MO ’14)
Angie Sigmon (NC '14)
LeeAnna Rabine (SD '14)
Josie Guiney Igielski (WI '14)
Angela Harvala (MN '14)
Karen Krantz (WA '14)
Jenna White (AK '14)
Roseann Maurantonio (NY '14)
Melonee Ginn (SC '14)
Nicole Castile (TN '14)
Jessica Tsoufiou (OH '14)
Michael Baum (PA '14)
Dr. Ernie Adkins (WV '14)
Tracy Espiritu (NJ '14)
Julie Wojcicki-Cleave (OR '14)
Michelle Johnson (DC '14)
Nardi Routten (FL '14)
Krystle Bryant (AL '14)
Cagney Weaver (MS '14)
Allyson Vitato (KY '14)
Shannon Ryan (NM '14)
Laurie Davies (IN '14)
Kelly Wilber (IN '14)
Maggie Hawk (MD '14)
Samatha Morgan (TX '14)
Amy Stanislowski (KS '14)
Carrie Harper (CO '14)
Jana Fukada (HI '14)
Carman McBride (AR '14)
Lindsey Parker (LA '14)
Angie Wytovich (VA '14)
Shalini Sharma (AZ '14)
Ana Gutierrez (AZ '14)
Brandon Sportel (CA '14)